An EASY Back to School Vocabulary Craft Activity

This week I started seeing all of my students again. It was fun to catch up with them and hear about their summers and we had a few “house keeping” items to take care of, like making schedule reminders for my older students so they can come on their own and creating punch cards for our behavioral reward system, but we also had time for a quick, easy craft activity – Adjective Fun Suns!image

Students wrote their names in the center and adjectives to describe themselves on the sun’s rays. This was a great way to get to know my new students and start the year off on a positive note with my returning students. It also was a great following directions and vocabulary activity! The students had fun coming up with creative adjectives to describe themselves.

And, I kept track of their ideas and created an awesome anchor chart for adjectives we can use in their writing all year!

image

The best part of this activity was how easy it was to prep. It didn’t take me long to cut the strips of card stock for the suns or use our die cuts to make the center circles. Other than yellow card stock, all you need are glue sticks and markers!

I had the idea for this activity while I was creating a Tier 2 Vocabulary and Context Clues activity to use with my 3rd through 5th graders. I plan on having them create “power flowers” and “fun suns” to strengthen their vocabulary and semantic networking skills.

Power Flower

I’ve been reading “Building Academic Vocabulary: Teacher’s Manual” by Robert Marzano and Debra Pickering. I highly recommend this resource if you are looking for evidence-based strategies to improve your systematic vocabulary instruction. I’m hoping to collaborate with teachers this year and support academic content when I work with students as well as provide them with strategies they can implement in the classroom for all of their students.

Marzano

My school year is off to a great start ! For those of you going back to school, too, welcome back!

Leave a Reply

