Hello!

Welcome to my blog! I plan to share therapy ideas, interesting research, and other news related to speech language pathology, special education, and public education. To get things started, visit my TpT store and scoop up this FREEBIE! I created these writing checklists for my elementary students to explore self-editing during narrative retell, opinion, and instructional writing pieces.

Now, let me introduce myself.

My name is Emily and I have been an SLP for 3 years and counting. I spent the first two years of my career working in a pediatric outpatient clinic in Minneapolis, MN. After that, my husband and I moved to Colorado and I started working in an elementary school. I attended Marquette University in Milwaukee, WI, and received my BS and MS degrees in speech pathology and audiology and speech-language pathology.

My experiences in the field of speech-language pathology have been varied and unique thus far. In grad school, I had the opportunity to work in a motor speech research lab and present findings in poster competitions and contribute to published work. I also worked as a “line therapist” for an in-home therapy organization specializing in play and relationship-based approaches for children with Autism. Additionally, while at Marquette, I had the fortune of participating in an intensive Aphasia program for adults with TBI and stroke. After graduation, while working in the clinic setting, I had the amazing opportunity to travel to Bulgaria twice to provide support and training for parents and educators at Bulgaria’s only inclusive school for children with special needs. Since moving to Colorado and working in public education, I’ve been introduced to the world of IEP’s, teacher-evaluation tools, and reading, writing, and communication skills (RWC!). I look forward to sharing more of my experiences and interests with you in future blog posts!

Leave a Reply

